Test yourself: are you more like Jesus or more like the Pharisees?

Helping the homeless

It was done more than a year ago but I’ve only just seen it – a survey by the Barna Group about whether US christians more resembled Jesus or Pharisees.

Like Hans Solo said: “I’ve got a bad feeling about this.”

Actions and attitudes

The study recorded christians’ responses to questions on actions and attitudes. And found that about half gave answers that were more pharisaical, and only 1 in 7 gave answers judged to be like Jesus. Those in the middle were slightly more likely to have good actions but lack a ‘Christlike’ attitude.

More committed and less conservative christians were slightly less likely than conservative and other christians to have pharisaical tendencies.

These results confirm other research that found that 5 out of 6 young non-christians say they know a Christian personally, yet only 1 in 6 say the lifestyles of those believers are noticeably different in a good way.

Test yourself

Of course the validity of these conclusions depends on the validity of the questions. So here are the 20 questions, so you can judge for yourself – and judge your own answers.

Actions like Jesus:
  • I listen to others to learn their story before telling them about my faith.
  • In recent years, I have influenced multiple people to consider following Christ.
  • I regularly choose to have meals with people with very different faith or morals from me.
  • I try to discover the needs of non-Christians rather than waiting for them to come to me.
  • I am personally spending time with non-believers to help them follow Jesus.
Attitudes like Jesus:
  • I see God-given value in every person, regardless of their past or present condition.
  • I believe God is for everyone.
  • I see God working in people’s lives, even when they are not following him.
  • It is more important to help people know God is for them than to make sure they know they are sinners.
  • I feel compassion for people who are not following God and doing immoral things.
Self-Righteous Actions:
  • I tell others the most important thing in my life is following God’s rules.
  • I don’t talk about my sins or struggles. That’s between me and God.
  • I try to avoid spending time with people who are openly gay or lesbian.
  • I like to point out those who do not have the right theology or doctrine.
  • I prefer to serve people who attend my church rather than those outside the church.
Self-Righteous Attitudes:
  • I find it hard to be friends with people who seem to constantly do the wrong things.
  • It’s not my responsibility to help people who won’t help themselves.
  • I feel grateful to be a Christian when I see other people’s failures and flaws.
  • I believe we should stand against those who are opposed to Christian values.
  • People who follow God’s rules are better than those who do not.

I’m sure there would be many who’d disagree with these measures of Christlikeness and self-righteousness, but I wonder whether their views are based on the church or on Jesus?

How do I rate?

To my chagrin, I don’t rate so well. My attitudes would be more on the Jesus side than the Pharisees’ side, but I score poorly on Jesus-like actions. I believe in doing the things listed, but at this time in my life, I’m not doing them much.

What do you think?

I’d be interested in comment from christians or non-christians.

  • Do you agree with the criteria?
  • Do you agree with the results?
  • How do you rate?

Next post I’ll have a go at what we might all do to change this.

Photo Credit: Ed Yourdon via Compfight cc

5 thoughts on “Test yourself: are you more like Jesus or more like the Pharisees?

  1. unkleE says:

    Thanks. I’d be interested to hear more of your reaction. Also, please hang around because the next post, maybe 2, will be about what we might do to do better. (Still thinking about that.)

    Like

  2. unkleE says:

    Hi Ryan, that is a big question and one I feel uncertain about.

    On the one hand, I believe war is contrary to the teachings of Jesus and rarely accomplishes good. There are often better responses. I’ve read that some of the alleged atrocities may have been falsely reported. And I can’t help feeling western nations are awfully selective about which evils they resist (mostly in the Middle East, but also in the old Yugoslavia and elsewhere) and which they allow to continue (e.g. North Korea, Zimbabwe a few years ago, etc). I’m also suspicious of the US because it is almost always the country that responds, and in same cases (e.g. the invasion of Iraq) its motives were devious or even mistaken and resulted in more deaths and a worse result than was there beforehand.

    But on the other hand standing watching brutal genocide of defenceless civilians, and doing nothing, is not really defensible either.

    I’m inclined to think in this case that the present situation is partially a result of the previously failed US policy in Iraq, showing that war was definitely wrong back in 2003, but that wrong choice has made it necessary to make another terrible choice now. I think Obama has learned the lesson, and is being much more guarded than Bush was then, doing the best he can in an intolerable situation he inherited from his predecessor. So arming Kurds and Iraqis may be the lesser of all evils.

    Australia is almost irrelevant in this except in giving some legitimacy to this being an international action.

    But I have the terrible feeling that these actions won’t solve the problem, and in fact nothing will solve it, except perhaps evacuating everyone out and allowing IS to live in splendid isolation. And I can’t see that happening. Not a very satisfactory answer, I know, but I really don’t know enough to say any more.

    Like

Please leave a comment - anonymous is OK, but please identify yourself with a username. An email address is needed if you want notification of new comments. Please be courteous and constructive - see the Comment policy (link in the footer).

